BEN SHEMIE – A Skeleton
01. First (02:19)
02. Baby Blue (04:09)
03. A Skeleton (03:53)
04. Fourth (00:45)
05. Arms Down (03:35)
06. Sixth (02:24)
07. Lust (02:09)
08. Differently (03:34)
09. I Know You Feel The Same (03:53)
10. Do Do Do (04:29)

Cat #: HITD 045
LP – 500 copies
100 copies on white vinyl – 400 copies on black vinyl
Release date: 15th February 2019

All songs written & Produced by Ben Shemie
Recorded & Mixed by Dave Smith @ Breakglass Studio
Mastered by Ryan Morey
Artwork by Marie-Douce St-Jacques
Layout by Marie Tourigny


Hailing from Suuns, Canadian Ben Shemie offers up his first solo work, ‘A Skeleton’ – an experimental pop album of cold synthetic sounds with touches of psychedelia.

Based on his live, itinerant experiments, the whole album was recorded in a single take with no overdub. Shemie has left traces of the atmosphere of each recording space, adding an element of chaos and unpredictability alongside his masterful/dexterous manipulation of the equipment.

The voices and instruments sound as if they were drawn from a not-too-distant future in which artificial intelligence has taken over human life and mutated into an artist. The album recounts the random wanderings and metaphysical rêveries of a skeleton – the fantasy muse of the machine, devoid of sex or race, a neutral entity.

The refined, minimal sonic narration is executed with astonishing precision and sensitivity. With ‘A Skeleton’, Shemie has definitely painted us a refreshing avant-garde picture.