Staran Wake – S/T
01. The Watcher (06:25)
02. Rogue Light (05:15)
03. Walking towards the signal (05:09)
04. Moth Syndrome (03:13)
05. Sirens of Rapture (05:30)
06. Amoniac (05:13)
07. Ocean trapped in Jurassic caves (02:31)
08. Out of Orbit (04:56)

Cat.#: HITD 063
Release date: 24th March 2023
Limited edition of 300 copies on black vinyl


Staran Wake is a collaborative project by Andrew Bunsell and Tom Relleen. After several years creating music in various groups together, followed by countless hazy late night recording sessions at each other’s studios and crisper afternoons producing the results, the British duo’s musical vision materialised with this self-titled instrumental album, taking nearly 4 years to complete.

This collection of pieces is composed with a wide range of instruments and combines multiple dark, experimental genres to form a rather lavish and unique proposition. It is imprinted with intense turgid textures, interweaving the hyper-tactile characteristics of analogue sound with field recording elements and sound effects.

Although the project’s name suggests a rather celestial concept (‘an’ means moon in one of the early protolanguages), the music actually explores the intimate feelings of transient space and otherness. It uses subtle build-ups of tension and repetitive progressions to shape an impression of distended time and space.
More than a mere treat for the ears, it’s a multi-layered album that invites reflection.

All tracks composed, performed and recorded by Andrew Bunsell and Tom Relleen at Dalston Studios, Space Studios and The Bunker, London (UK)
Arranged, produced and mixed by Andrew Bunsell and Tom Relleen at The Bunker, London (UK)
Mixed and mastered by Marta Salogni at Studio Zona
Artwork and design by Jonas Meier